Categories
Reviews

Review: Death at Sandringham House (Her Majesty Investigates #2) by C.C. Benison

Murder in the palaces of England gives sleuth Jane Bee, housemaid to Her Majesty the Queen, a puzzle to fit for a monarch in the second novel of this charmingly irresistible series. What is Death at Sandringham House about? Though this is the only book in the series that I’ve encountered, I imagine the Her […]

Categories
Reviews

ARC Review: Bastion by Phil Tucker

Scorio will rise from the ashes to conquer the ten layers of hell. Reborn without memories, Scorio learns that he is a Great Soul, a legendary defender of the ancient city of Bastion. That within the hallowed halls of the Academy and under the stern eyes of the underworld’s greatest instructors he will enjoy enormous […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: An Ordinary Wonder by Buki Papillon

An Ordinary Wonder is a story of the courage needed to be yourself. Oto leaves for boarding school with one plan: excel and escape his cruel home. Falling in love with his roommate was certainly not on the agenda, but fear and shame force him to hide his love and true self. Back home, weighed […]

Categories
Reviews

ARC Review: In the Bedroom of Medusa by Magen Cubed [Blogtober Day 5]

An ancient monster in the modern-day. A gildedcastle with whispered secrets. A peculiar sapphicromance. When Evelyn agrees to become the live-incompanion of the secretive Lady DemetriaBalaskas, the human finds herself falling for acreature lost to time. IN THE BEDROOM OF MEDUSA is an eroticF/F romance novella featuring a gorgon/humanrelationship. I received an ARC of In […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys #3) by Julia Quinn

She was in the wrong place… Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers’ hideaway tucked inside a […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: An Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgertons #3) by Julia Quinn

Will she accept his offer before the clock strikes midnight? Sophie Beckett never dreamed she’d be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton’s famed masquerade ball—or that “Prince Charming” would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Beautiful (The Beautiful #1) by Renée Ahdieh

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Viscount Who Loved Me (Bridgertons #2) by Julia Quinn

1814 promises to be another eventful season, but not, this author believes, for Anthony Bridgerton, London’s most elusive bachelor, who has shown no indication that he plans to marry.And in truth, why should he? When it comes to playing the consummate rake, nobody does it better…—Lady Whistledown’s Society Papers, April 1814 But this time, the gossip […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Codename Villanelle (Killing Eve #1) by Luke Jennings

Villanelle (a codename, of course) is one of the world’s most skilled assassins. A catlike psychopath whose love for the creature comforts of her luxurious lifestyle is second only to her love of the game, she specializes in murdering the world’s richest and most powerful. But when she murders an influential Russian politician, she draws […]