Categories
Reviews

Review: Darknesses by Lachelle Seville

It’s been a year since Oasis stumbled away from Blessed Falls with wings carved into her back and too many scars to count. A year spent razing delusions of being an angel’s vessel, proving to her brother that she doesn’t belong in a psych ward, and mourning the loss of her mother’s vinyl pressed ashes. […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston

Chloe Green is so close to winning. After her moms moved her from SoCal to Alabama for high school, she’s spent the past four years dodging gossipy classmates and a puritanical administration at Willowgrove Christian Academy. The thing that’s kept her going: winning valedictorian. Her only rival: prom queen Shara Wheeler, the principal’s perfect progeny. […]

Categories
Reviews

Dracula Daily: An Early Review

For the uninitiated, Dracula Daily is an email newsletter. The newsletter follows the events of the classic novel Dracula in the order that they happened chronologically and delivers them in the epistolary way in which the entries were written. When Stoker wrote Dracula, he wrote it via letter and journal entries, which were then compiled […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Warlord Arcanist (Frith Chronicles #6) by Shami Stovall

Kings. Dragons. The start of an all-consuming war. As the twelve god-creatures appear in the world, nations brace for a inevitable struggle. Some have allied themselves with the Second Ascension in return for power and protection, but the Frith Guild aims to form a counter alliance. Volke Savan, along with the other arcanists of the […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Death at Sandringham House (Her Majesty Investigates #2) by C.C. Benison

Murder in the palaces of England gives sleuth Jane Bee, housemaid to Her Majesty the Queen, a puzzle to fit for a monarch in the second novel of this charmingly irresistible series. What is Death at Sandringham House about? Though this is the only book in the series that I’ve encountered, I imagine the Her […]

Categories
Reviews

ARC Review: Bastion by Phil Tucker

Scorio will rise from the ashes to conquer the ten layers of hell. Reborn without memories, Scorio learns that he is a Great Soul, a legendary defender of the ancient city of Bastion. That within the hallowed halls of the Academy and under the stern eyes of the underworld’s greatest instructors he will enjoy enormous […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: An Ordinary Wonder by Buki Papillon

An Ordinary Wonder is a story of the courage needed to be yourself. Oto leaves for boarding school with one plan: excel and escape his cruel home. Falling in love with his roommate was certainly not on the agenda, but fear and shame force him to hide his love and true self. Back home, weighed […]

Categories
Reviews

ARC Review: In the Bedroom of Medusa by Magen Cubed [Blogtober Day 5]

An ancient monster in the modern-day. A gildedcastle with whispered secrets. A peculiar sapphicromance. When Evelyn agrees to become the live-incompanion of the secretive Lady DemetriaBalaskas, the human finds herself falling for acreature lost to time. IN THE BEDROOM OF MEDUSA is an eroticF/F romance novella featuring a gorgon/humanrelationship. I received an ARC of In […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys #3) by Julia Quinn

She was in the wrong place… Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers’ hideaway tucked inside a […]