Categories
Blogtober

Blogtober Day 6: Fall Mornings (and books to read during them!)

The grey morning Picture this: you get up sometime just after sunrise, and the day is grey and cloudy outside. No sunshine is even trying to get through the cloud bank. You’ve got a few hours before you really need to get ready and start your day, so you brew your warming beverage of choice […]

Categories
Reviews

ARC Review: In the Bedroom of Medusa by Magen Cubed [Blogtober Day 5]

An ancient monster in the modern-day. A gildedcastle with whispered secrets. A peculiar sapphicromance. When Evelyn agrees to become the live-incompanion of the secretive Lady DemetriaBalaskas, the human finds herself falling for acreature lost to time. IN THE BEDROOM OF MEDUSA is an eroticF/F romance novella featuring a gorgon/humanrelationship. I received an ARC of In […]

Categories
Blogtober

Blogtober Day 2: Fall Fashion Essentials for Bookworms 2021

Hellooooo there, are you getting full swing into spooky season? I know I am! Here are a few fashion essentials I think every bookworm needs for the most aesthetic spooky season possible: A Cozy Sweater This one is pretty obvious, right? Well, 2021 fall fashion trends are leaning towards brightly colored and patterned sweaters. For […]

Categories
Blogtober

Blogtober Day 1 (Late, oops…): 31 Book Recommendations for October

Happy Blogtober! I meant to have this post up yesterday, but y’know, life happens! So here we go: Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman Magical realism, adult reading range Incantation by Alice Hoffman Historical fiction, dark themes, YA reading range Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë Gothic romance, adult reading range Grave Sight (Harper Connely #1) by […]

Categories
Monthly Wrap Up

September 2021 Wrap Up

Life Update On Saturday I start a new job! This one is full time and is a management position, which means I’ll be doing a lot more at work than I have been for the past couple of months. Unfortunately, that also means I might dip in activity (again). I’m hoping to do Blogtober this […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. […]

Categories
Saturday Wrap Ups

Saturday Morning Wrap Up: 9/18

What am I reading? Death at Sandringham House by C.C. Benison An American Marriage by Tayari Jones Romancing Mr. Bridgerton by Julia Quinn I haven’t been finishing many books lately, though… What am I posting? Due to general facts of life, I haven’t been posting regularly in a long time, I know. I did manage […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys #3) by Julia Quinn

She was in the wrong place… Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers’ hideaway tucked inside a […]

Categories
Discussion Posts

Discussion: The Uncomfortable Truth about Sex in YA Novels

Content Warning & Disclaimer: In this post I will be talking candidly about sex, sexuality, and sexual attraction–specifically as it relates to teenagers. This means I will be discussing fictional characters in their teen years, and possibly classified as minors, who engage in fictional sexual activity of varying levels of consent and understanding. I will […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: An Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgertons #3) by Julia Quinn

Will she accept his offer before the clock strikes midnight? Sophie Beckett never dreamed she’d be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton’s famed masquerade ball—or that “Prince Charming” would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, […]