Categories
Reviews

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. […]

Categories
Discussion Posts

Discussion: Science in Fiction

Introduction For this post, I’m not really discussing science fiction itself, but books that feature science on some level. These books usually comprise of a narrator or main POV character with a background in a scientific field–oftentimes a field that the author themselves have experience or great interest in. This POV character/narrator generally is considered […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Emergency Skin by NK Jemisin

Tellus was left behind by the Founders, but there are important cell cultures still there that need to be harvested and brought back home. In this short science fiction tale, an AI narrates as it informs its carrier of the past and present as the Founders of its world saw things. You never hear the […]

Categories
Reviews

Sweep of the Blade, Review

In the fourth installment of the Sci-Fi Fantasy Innkeeper Chronicles, Ilona Andrews write from the perspective of Maud Demille, older sister of innkeeper Dina. Maud and her daughter Helen were exiled from the Holy Anocracy and the vampire house that Helen was born into three years prior. After raising Helen in a wasteland, fighting for […]