Categories
Reviews

Review: Warlord Arcanist (Frith Chronicles #6) by Shami Stovall

Kings. Dragons. The start of an all-consuming war. As the twelve god-creatures appear in the world, nations brace for a inevitable struggle. Some have allied themselves with the Second Ascension in return for power and protection, but the Frith Guild aims to form a counter alliance. Volke Savan, along with the other arcanists of the […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. […]

Categories
Discussion Posts

Discussion: The Uncomfortable Truth about Sex in YA Novels

Content Warning & Disclaimer: In this post I will be talking candidly about sex, sexuality, and sexual attraction–specifically as it relates to teenagers. This means I will be discussing fictional characters in their teen years, and possibly classified as minors, who engage in fictional sexual activity of varying levels of consent and understanding. I will […]

Categories
Discussion Posts

NA and YA: What’s the difference?

What is YA? This one is pretty easy for most of us: YA is Young Adult fiction. These are books that primarily target a demographic in their teens. Due to Middle Grade and NA, YA age ranges can vary by genre and author. Most YA books are meant to appeal to the ages 13-18, though […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Beautiful (The Beautiful #1) by Renée Ahdieh

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: SLAY by Brittney Morris

By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only Black kids at Jefferson Academy. But at home, she joins hundreds of thousands of Black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY. No one knows Kiera is the game […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs. But on the day of the ceremony, her blood […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: The One (The Selection #3) by Keira Cass

The time has come for one winner to be crowned. When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes […]

Categories
Reviews

Review: American Royals (American Royals #1) by Katharine McGee

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.Two girls vying for the prince’s heart.This is the story of the American royals. When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons […]

Categories
Discussion Posts

Discussion: Teenage Romance (Why is it so dramatic??)

Have you ever read a book and thought “Wow, this author does not remember what being X age is like?” I get that feeling a lot, especially when reading a YA/NA book in which a teenage romance is more dramatic than the average soap opera. I am willing to suspend my reality in cases of […]